Skip to content

Local Government

The City of Jefferson

The City of Jefferson operates under a Mayor/Council form of government.  The Mayor and an eight member City Council are elected on a non-partisan basis for overlapping two-year terms.  In 1977, the Charter Ordinance establishing the position of City Administrator was adopted by the Council.  This position is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City of Jefferson.

Jefferson Public Library

The Jefferson Public Library offers the Summer Reading Program for school-age children, the Pre-School Story Hour and other special events.  The Jefferson Public Library is also a member of the Mid-Wisconsin Federated Library System, which encompasses a four-county area.  This system offers over a million titles and numerous non-book materials.

Police Department

The City of Jefferson has a staff of 14 sworn personnel augmented by two full-time and 1 part-time clerk/dispatchers and three part-time sworn officers, yielding a ratio of 466 residents per officer. Jefferson has 24-hour police service.

Fire Protection

The Jefferson Fire Department operates with 45 volunteers. The department’s equipment includes four pumpers, two tankers, a platform aerial ladder and van.

City of Jefferson, WI logo
Scroll To Top